Frustration

Standing in the hallowed hallway of the college of my choice

Beaming with pride and joy

Anxious and somewhat frightened, what was I thinking

Is a college degree worth the sacrifice, I repeatedly asked myself

Indoctrinated!

I took the bait, hook line and sinker

To this fallacy, created by the movers and shakers of this cruel world

To keep us in line

Maintaining the status quo in order to stifle our creativity

Why didn’t I see this coming?

 To be counted among the vocational areas was to be considered

Intellectually challenged, dull! Dunce!

If only I knew then what I know now.

 Fast forward to 2014

Downtrodden, a grave sense of despair and hopeless

Trapped!  Rocked by the insecurities of this world

Governments held to ransom

By multinational lending agencies

Structural Adjustment Programmes designed to keep us dependent and the poor get poorer while the rich wallow in ill- gotten gains

Neo- Colonialism!

Oppression!

Capitalism!

Our humanity have been stripped bare

Exposing our backsides for the entire world to see

No one really cares

Youth unemployment

Redundancies

Blighted prospects

Where is the future?

Hope and optimism vanish away in thin air

Living in a world where qualification and experience play second fiddle

It is who knows you that matters

Don’t be silly

Yet another interview

Deja vu

 

Wayne Campbell

© 2013

 waykam@yahoo.com

 

